AIA Florida

Home | Log-In | Search | Contact Us

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube LinkedIn

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects

Looking for an architect? Are you an architect? Are you a student?

Award Information Will Appear Here
Use your mouse to move across the above mosaic.

2021 AIA Florida Design Awards

About Categories Winners

2001 Design Awards Archive

Award of Excellence in Architecture


  • Airport Plaza Offices/Architects Offices - Charles W. Clary III, FAIA DAG Architects Inc.
  • Bienes Center for the Literary Arts - Don Singer, AIA, Singer Architects 
  • Freund House - Guy Peterson, AIA, Guy Peterson/ OFA, Inc. 
  • Luminaire Corporate Headquarters and Warehouse - Roney Mateu, AIA, Mateu CarreƱo Rizo & Partners, Inc.


  • Cambier Park Band Shell - David M. Corban, AIA, Architectural Network  
  • Compensar FEC (XXI Pavillion and Jubilee Plaza) - Cal Peck, AIA, VOA Associates in collaboration with KB Arquitectos 
  • Ellison Residence - Suzanne Martinson, AIA, Suzanne Martinson Architects 
  • Lincoln Cinema Complex - Bernard Zyscovich, AIA, Zyscovich, Inc. 
  • Miami Dade Comm. College InterAmerican Phase II - Raul L. Rodriguez, AIA, Rodriguez and Quiroga Architects Chartered 
  • Peter B. Davidsen Middle School - Rick Rowe, AIA, Rowe Architects 
  • United States Courthouse - HLM Design and Nacht & Lewis Architects
    Jurors: Michael Shirley, AIA, Houston, Texas, Joseph Mashburn, AIA, Houston, Texas, Val Glitch, AIA, Houston, Texas, Bill Cannady, AIA, Houston, Texas

Test of Time

  • Cooney Residence (25 Year) Edward J. Seibert, FAIA, Seibert Architects 
  • Appleton Museum (10 Year) Peter Hepner, AIA, Holmes Hepner & Assoc.            
    Jurors: John Howey, FAIA, William M. Morgan, FAIA, F. Blair Reeves, FAIA, John P. Tice, Jr., FAIA

Unbuilt Design

  • Theatre of Sacrifice Deighton V. Babis, AIA, Lyman Davidson Dooley, Inc. 
  • Okaloosa Walton Comm. College Observatory and Classroom Samuel Blimling, II, AIA, DAG Architects 
  • Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport Michael Kerwin, AIA, Spillis Candela DMJM 
  • Managuita, Managua, Nicaragua Master Plan for New Town Hortensia Lanio, AIA, Chalgub/Lanio Architects 
  • Seaside Ceremonial Landmark Design Entry by the Sea Matthew Kragh, AIA, Architectural Network  
  • Husk-Jennings Advertising (Dyal Upchurch Bldg.) Ted Pappas, FAIA, PappasJSA

Jurors: Richard R. Barnett, Sr., AIA, Andrea Clark Brown, AIA, Edward Seibert, FAIA Charles Sieger, FAIA

Honor Awards

Gold Medal Award: Jerome Filer, FAIA
Jurors: James Anstis, FAIA (Chair), Larry Schneider, AIA, Charles Pawley, FAIA
Silver Medal Award: Henry C. Alexander, FAIA and S. Keith Bailey, AIA
Jurors: Jerome Filer, FAIA (Chair), Enrique A. Woodroffe, FAIA, Rev. Hap Lewis, Jr., FAIA
Outstanding Builder of the Year: Turner Construction
Jurors: Roney J. Mateu, AIA (Chair), John Ehrig, AIA, Armando Rizo, AIA
Mellen C. Greeley Craftsman of the Year: Mill-Rite Woodworking Co.
Jurors: Roney J. Mateu, AIA (Chair), John Ehrig, AIA, Armando Rizo, AIA
2001 Bob Graham Architectural Awareness: Steven Gift, AIA
Jurors: Roney J. Mateu, AIA (Chair), John Ehrig, AIA, Armando Rizo, AIA
Anthony L. Pullara Individual Award: Debra Lupton, AIA
Jurors: Jerome Filer, FAIA (Chair), Enrique A. Woodroffe, FAIA, Keith Bailey, FAIA



Design Awards

©2024 AIA Florida.   Contact Us · Privacy Policy