AIA Florida

Home | Log-In | Search | Contact Us

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube LinkedIn

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects

Looking for an architect? Are you an architect? Are you a student?

Upcoming Events   Contract Documents
Florida People's Choice   2024 Convention & Trade Show

2023 Design and Honor Awards Recipients

2023 Design Awards Recipients


Honor Award: KoDA (Kean Office for Design and Architecture), Mangrove House, Key Biscayne, FL

Honor Award: Damien Blumetti Architect, Inc., Creek House, Sarasota, FL

Honor Award: Damien Blumetti Architect,­ Inc., Boat House, Osprey, FL

Merit Award: Straughn Trout Architects,­ McFadden Nature Center, Donalsonville, GA

Merit Award: Guy Peterson | OFA Inc.,­ design architect, and Damien Blumetti Architects, architect of record, Shadow Pavilion, Casey Key, FL

Citation Award: Álvarez-Díaz & Villalón® | Architecture & Interior Design,­ Reactivating & Reconnecting San Juan, PR: The impact of inclusive and resilient design strategies in shaping its urban waterfront, San Juan, PR

Citation Award: CÚRE & PENABAD,­ design architect, and GFD Miami Group, architect of record, Project Peach, Miami, FL

Citation Award: Halflants + Pichette,­ USF School of Architecture, Tampa, FL

Citation Award: Architectural Studio,­ Plaza del Veterano, Municipio de Villalba, ­­­­Villalba, PR

CItation Award: Touzet Studio,­ Sheperd Eco, Miami, FL



Honor Award: CÚRE & PENABAD, architect, Allora,­ Guatemala City,­



Theoretical and Research- Professional

Merit Award: Daniel Bolojan, Assoc. AIA, ­Machine Perceptions: Gaudi + Neural Networks,­ Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Spain

Citation Award: Diaz Paunetto Arquitectos LLC,­ Self Growing Lab, Brooklyn, New York


Theoretical and Research- Student

Honor Award: Minami Guido, University of Florida, Ghost Machine: A Traveling Atlas

Honor Award: Stephanie Roberts, University of Florida, Dwelling in Identity: Rituals of Exchange, Philippines

Merit Award: Edward Yara, Sewing Division: Exploring Architecture's Ability to Unite Within Borders, Nogales, AZ, and Sonora, Mexico

Merit Award: Avery Dunavant, University of Florida, Pier Review, Jacksonville Beach, FL


Historic Preservation & Restoration

Merit Award: SOLTICE Planning and Architecture,­ ­Umbrella House Façade Restoration, Sarasota, FL

Merit Award: Wilder Architecture, Barbaricum, Ybor City, FL

Citation Award: Rowe Architects Incorporated, ­St. Petersburg High School Historic Renovations, St. Petersburg, FL

Citation Award: Hammond Design Group, LLC,­­ Smokey Hollow Barbershop Historic Restoration, Tallahassee, FL


Award of Excellence Interiors

Honor Award: STORYN STUDIO FOR ARCHITECTURE LLC,­ Salty Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

­Merit Award: hive architects inc.,­ Shibusa Interiors, Sarasota, FL

Merit Award: Perkins & Will, City of Sunny Isles Beach Gateway Center, Sunny Isles, FL


Award of Excellence New Work

Honor Award: [STRANG] Design,­ Wildwood Residence, Coconut Grove, FL

Merit Award: hive architects inc., Shibusa, Sarasota, FL

Merit Award: Damien Blumetti Architect, Inc., ­Bay House, Sarasota, FL

Citation Award: Sweet Sparkman Architecture & Interiors,­­ Longboat Key Fire Station #92, Longboat Key, FL

Citation Award: [STRANG] Design,­ Angel Oaks, Coconut Grove, FL

Citation Award: Nichols Architects,­ Arlo Wynwood, Miami, FL

Citation Award: Shulman + Associates,­ design architect, and Wolfberg Alvarez, architect of record, Arts & Letters Garage, Miami, FL

Citation Award: Guy Peterson | OFA Inc.,­ Cherokee Park House, Sarasota, FL


Award of Excellence Renovations & Additions

Merit Award: Traction Architecture, Sunrise House, St. Petersburg, FL


Award of Excellence Sustainability

Honor Award: Atelier Mey, House in A Garden, Coconut Grove,­ FL

Citation Award: Arquitectonica GEO, Canopy Park, Miami Beach, FL


2023 Honors Awards Recipients

James H. Anstis, FAIA, Lifetime Achievement Award:

Don Yoshino, FAIA


The Gold Medal Award:

Marilys Nepomechie, FAIA


The Silver Medal Hillard T. Smith Community Service Award:

Rebecca Talbert, AIA


Honor Award for Social Advancement of the Profession:

Craig Aquart, AIA


Firm of the Year:

Wannemacher Jensen Architects, Inc.


The Anthony “Tony’ Pullara Chapter Award:

AIA Florida Southwest


Photographer of the Year:

Zalmy Meyer­, AIA


Associate Member of the Year:

Shadia Jaramillo, AIA



Rowe Architects Incoporated, Bat Houses



©2024 AIA Florida.   Contact Us · Privacy Policy