AIA Florida

Home | Log-In | Search | Contact Us

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube LinkedIn

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects

Looking for an architect? Are you an architect? Are you a student?

Upcoming Events   Contract Documents
Webinars   2024 Convention & Trade Show

2021 Design Award Winners

The 2021 Design Awards jury convened May 1 in New York City to decide the winners of the AIA Florida/Caribbean prizes.

The jurors were:­

  • Nader Tehrani, dean of The Cooper Union's Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture.­
  • Gregg Pasquarelli, AIA, a founding principal of SHoP Architects.­
  • Hayley Eber, assistant dean at The Cooper Union Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture.­
  • Stella Betts, partner at Levenbetts.­
  • Elisa Iturbe, co-founder of Outside Development, a design and research practice, and a professor at The Cooper Union.

We appreciate their generous donations of time and service to the profession.­

And the winners are:­



Honor:­ Brooks + Scarpa, Fast Forward Fort Lauderdale Design and Construction Manual for a Sustainable and Resilient Community and Cohesive Public Realm

­Merit:­ Brooks + Scarpa and KMF Architects, The Mennello Museum of American Art

­Citation: birse/thomas, Project Hope: A Trauma-Informed Recovery Center

­­Citation: ­Glenda Puente Architect, Casa 640


Honor:­ Jorge Rigau Arquitectos PSC, Conservation Project for San Jose Church

­Theoretical & Research, Student­

Merit:­­­Hector Berdecia-Hernandez,­ Escuela Taller de Conservación y Restauración del Patrimonio Histórico de Puerto Rico, Institute of Puerto Rican Culture, Belleza Desnuda: A Conservation Assessment of the Concrete Exterior of Henry Klumb’s Parroquia Nuestra Señora del Carmen in Cataño, Puerto Rico

­Theoretical & Research, Professional­

Merit: ­Brooks + Scarpa, UnPLANning Miami: A Transformative Design Framework for Strategic Decline and Resettlement of South Florida from the Effects of Sea-Level Rise and Climate Change

­Citation:­­­­Beatriz del Cueto, FAIA, Revisiting Old Technologies for New Construction Hydraulic Mosiacs and Concrete Block in the Spanish Caribbean

­Award of Excellence, Historic Preservation & Restoration

Honor: Jorge Rigau Arquitectos PSC, Conservation Project for San Jose Church

­Merit: SOLSTICE Architecture and Planning, Sarasota Municipal Auditorium Renovation

­Merit: KMF Architects, Historic Leu House

­Citation:­­KMF Architects, Historic Mote Morris House

­Award of Excellence, Interiors­

Honor:­­Glenda Puente Architect, Floreana Nail Spa

­Merit: Little Diversified Architectural Consulting, Corporate Headquarters, Lake Mary

­Citation: ­David Corban Architect, Holocaust Museum and Cohen Education Center

­Award of Excellence, New Work­

Honor:­­­Fuster+Architects, Casa Flores

­Merit:­­­Hall Darling Design Studio, Suwyn Early Learning Center at the Bonita Springs YMCA

­Merit: ­­ASD|Sky Architects and Rogers Partners, The New St. Pete Pier

­Merit:­­­Shulman & Associates and Wolfberg Alvarez & Partners, 723/Marshalls

­Merit: Alfonso Architects, Streamsong Black­

­Citation: ­hive architects inc., LS1 House

­Citation:­­­Strang Design, Tarpon Bend Residence

­Citation: ­SOLSTICE Architecture and Planning,­ Rosemary Square

­Citation: DAG Architects, Dune Lakes Elementary School

­Award of Excellence, Renovations & Additions

Citation:­­­MATEU Architecture, Luminaire Showroom Addition

­Citation:­­­Touzet Studio, 800 Lincoln Road

­Award of Excellence, Sustainability

Merit: ­Marvel,­ Acacía Resilient House

­Citation:­­­Arquitectonica GEO, University of Miami Lakeside Village­

­Test of Time

Honor: ­Marvel, Santa Monica Condominium


©2024 AIA Florida.   Contact Us · Privacy Policy