AIA Florida

The Florida Association of the American Institute of Architects

The 2009 Florida/Caribbean Honor & Design Award winners are:



Unbuilt

- Scott Hughes Architects, Ski House, Merit
- Atelier 359, Alaqua Animal Refuge, Merit
- Armstrong & Cohen Architecture, TunaHAKi Theater, Merit
- Fielding W. Featherston, AIA and Rebecca Talbert, AIA, SunRail Station, Merit
- Oppenheim Architecture + Design LLP, San Silencio, Merit
- PK Studios, Inc., Collier County Kayak Pavilion/Launch, Merit
- Florida Community Design Center, Archer Braid: Bicycle and Pedestrian Commuting & Recreation Corridor, Merit

Award of Excellence

- William Lane Architect, South Pointe Park, Honor-New Work
- AECOM, Cayman International School, Honor-New Work
- Khoury & Vogt Architects, Caliza Pool, Merit-New Work
- Bartizan Group PSC, New Annex for Colegio de Arquitectos y Arquetectos Paisajistas de Puerto Rico, Merit-New Work
- Arquitectonica, Mangrove West Coast, Merit-New Work
- Guy Butler Architect, Africa Windmill Project, Merit-New Work
- JR Coleman Davis-Pagan, AIA, Villas de Coamo, Merit-New Work
- Moor & Associates Architects, PA, Private Residence South Village, Merit-New Work
- Zyscovich Architects, Cultural Center in Little Haiti Miami, Merit-New Work
- Barnett Fronczak Barlowe Architects, Goodwood Carriage House, Merit-Renovations & Additions
- Seibert Architects, PA, Cohen House, Merit-Renovations & Additions
- Shulman & Associates, The Angler's Boutique Resort, Merit-Renovations & Additions
- GA+NIF, CSP Arquitectos, Mercado de Flores y Frutos, Rehabilitación de la Antigua Tabacalera de Aibonito, PR, Honor - Historic Preservation & Restoration
- M.C. Harry & Associates, Dade County Courthouse Courtroom 6-1 Restoration, Merit - Historic Preservation & Restoration

Test of Time

Arquitectonica, The Atlantis, Honor

Theoretical & Research

- Edgar Albandoz Carrasquillo, Adapting the Puerto Rican Dream to Life in the Urban Center, Merit
- Anthony Abbate Architect, Transit/Housing Oriented Redevelopment Pilot, Merit
- Damien Blumetti, An investigation of adding mid-century modern housing, Merit

Honor Awards

- Gold Medal—Enrique Woodroffe, FAIA
- Silver Medal—Mark Smith, AIA and Bruce Gora, AIA (posthumously)
- McMinn Educator Award—Karl Thorne, FAIA



AIA Florida

The Florida Association of the American Institute of Architects

- Allied Member of the Year—Brian Hadar (Suncoast Insurance)
- Associate Individual Honor Award—Jedd Heap, Assoc. AIA
- Photographer of the Year—Lee Gordon
- Bob Graham Honor Award—Bill Tinsley
- Anthony L. Pullara Chapter Award—AIA Tampa Bay
- Anthony L. Pullara Individual Honor Award—Martin Diaz-Yabor, AIA